NEW DELHI: The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) on Saturday won three out of the four central panel posts of the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU), while the NSUI bagged vice-president post.
ABVP candidate Tushar Dedha won the President’s post, Aprajita and Sachin Baisla won the post of secretary and joint secretary, respectively.
Delhi University Student Union Election 2023 Results Live Updates
The DUSU elections have always seen a direct fight between the ABVP and NSUI.

ABVP supporters celebrating during counting of votes. Photo: PTI

“Rahul Gandhi campaigned in Delhi University Students Union Election which helped ABVP to increase it’s vote share! Congratulations to all the Winning Candidates of ABVP, it’s cadres as well as all the wishers!,” said Union minister Kiren Rijiju in a tweet.
Whereas, Delhi BJP vice-president called it a defeat of INDI alliance.

The DUSU elections were last held in 2019. The polls could not be held in 2020 and 2021 due to Covid-19 while possible disruptions to the academic calendar prevented their conduct in 2022.
Twenty-four candidates were in the fray for the elections.
The university had recorded a voter turnout of 42 per cent. Around one lakh students were eligible to vote in the election.
Elections at 52 colleges and departments for the central panel were conducted through EVMs while voting for the college union polls was on paper ballot.
The ABVP, Congress-affiliated NSUI, CPI(M)-backed Students’ Federation of India (SFI) and the CPI(ML)-Liberation-linked All India Students’ Association (AISA) had fielded candidates for all four central posts. The ABVP won three of the four seats in the 2019 elections.
The DUSU is the main representative body for most colleges and faculties. Each college also has its own students’ union, elections to which are held annually.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *