NEW DELHI: World leaders representing the G20 and special invitee countries, India’s richest business leaders including Mukesh Ambani and Gautam Adani, all chief ministers and Union ministers are among those who have been invited to the special dinner hosted by President Droupadi Murmu at Bharat Mandapam on Saturday.
Though former PM Manmohan Singh has been invited, his office confirmed that he will be unable to attend on account of ill health.

All chief ministers, including those of opposition-governed states, have been invited. However, many from opposition parties are unlikely to make it to the power-packed event to be attended by US President Joe Biden, UK PM Rishi Sunak, Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, Canadian PM Justin Trudeau, Japanese PM Fumio Kishida, French President Emmanuel Macron, Bangladeshi PM Sheikh Hasina and Chinese Premier Li Qiang, among others.

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee has confirmed her attendance at the dinner, along with Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and Tamil Nadu CM M K Stalin. Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel and his Karnataka counterpart Siddaramaiah are unlikely to attend on account of pre-scheduled programmes in their respective states.

Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, who is the leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha and enjoys the rank of cabinet minister, has not been invited, his office confirmed to TOI. Heads of opposition parties as well as floor leaders in Parliament also confirmed that they have not been invited to the dinner.

Opposition sources took exception to Kharge’s exclusion from the guest list and said the move was problematic not only because he represented the entire opposition bloc but also because the G20 dinner was being hosted by the President, not the government.
Apart from Ambani and Adani, Tata Sons chairman N Chandrasekaran, Aditya Birla group chairman Kumar Mangalam Birla and Bharti-Airtel founder chairman Sunil Bharti Mittal are among the business leaders who have been invited for the dinner.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *