NEW DELHI: Congress released its sixth list of candidates for the Rajasthan assembly elections, featuring 22 nominees. Notably, the party has decided not to grant a ticket to Minister Mahesh Joshi, who represented the Hawa Mahal constituency in Jaipur. In place of Joshi, the party has nominated R R Tiwari, the president of its Jaipur unit.
With this announcement, the Congress has now declared its candidates for 178 out of 200 seats, reserving one seat, Bharatpur, for the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD).

Notably, Joshi, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Shanti Dhariwal and Rajasthan Tourism Development Corporation (RTDC) chairman Dharmendra Rathore were served notices by the party for indiscipline after Congress MLAs of the Ashok Gehlot camp skipped a Congress Legislature Party meeting called at the chief minister’s residence in Jaipur in September last year and held a parallel meeting at Dhariwal’s residence to oppose any move of the party to appoint Sachin Pilot as the chief minister.
Gehlot was in the race for the Congress president post at that time.
In its latest list of 22 candidates, the party named Abhimanyu Poonia from Sangaria, Shahjad Khan from Soorsagar, Om Narayaniwal from Bhilwara, and Naimuddin Guddu from Ladpura.
The 200-member Rajasthan Assembly will go to polls on November 25 and the counting of votes will be taken up on December 3.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *